The sun, Leysin’s asset over the centuries, made it a recognized medical station and a tourist destination. The current village has known how to use its past and offers visitors a step back by discovering the Museum of Old Leysin and the former sanatoriums during visits to the village.
The name “Leissin” appears for the first time in a document dated 1276 from the Dukes of Savoy, rulers of the Chablais region. The main wealth of Leysin, with its generously open and panoramic topography, with fertile south-facing terraces, is undoubtedly its climate. The sun shines more often than elsewhere, the air is pure, cool and dry.
For more than 60 years, this destination will be known throughout the world as one of the most important Swiss centers for the treatment of tuberculosis. It was not until 1956 that the resort was renewed and turned definitively into a tourist and sports resort, intended in particular for families.
Today, the old sanatoriums with their deep, sun-kissed balconies have been converted into international schools and apartments. Visitors can thus continue to enjoy the benefits of the sun.